Search results: Found 5

Listing 1 - 5 of 5
Sort by
Mongrel Nation

Author:
ISBN: 9780472099917 9780472025053 Year: DOI: 10.3998/mpub.206486 Language: English
Publisher: University of Michigan Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 100928
Subject: Biology
Added to DOAB on : 2018-04-20 11:02:35
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

Mongrel Nation surveys the history of the United Kingdom’s African, Asian, and Caribbean populations from 1948 to the present, working at the juncture of cultural studies, literary criticism, and postcolonial theory. Ashley Dawson argues that during the past fifty years Asian and black intellectuals from Sam Selvon to Zadie Smith have continually challenged the United Kingdom’s exclusionary definitions of citizenship, using innovative forms of cultural expression to reconfigure definitions of belonging in the postcolonial age. By examining popular culture and exploring topics such as the nexus of race and gender, the growth of transnational politics, and the clash between first- and second-generation immigrants, Dawson broadens and enlivens the field of postcolonial studies.

Keywords

Literature

Proust and America

Author:
ISBN: 9781846311147 9781846313875 Year: DOI: 10.26530/OAPEN_626374 Language: English
Publisher: Liverpool University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 100316
Subject: Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2017-03-31 11:02:04
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

“It is strange,” Proust wrote in 1909, “that, in the most widely different departments . . . there should be no other literature which exercises over me so powerful an influence as English and American.” In the spirit of Proust’s admission, this engaging and critical volume offers the first comparative reading of the French novelist in the context of American art, literature, and culture. In addition to examining Proust’s key American influences—Ralph Waldo Emerson, Edgar Allen Poe, and James McNeill Whistler—Proust and America investigates the previously overlooked influence of the American neurologist George Beard, whose writings on neurasthenia and “American nervousness” contributed to the essential modernity of the author’s work.

Keywords

Literature --- Proust

Enthusiast!

Author:
ISBN: 9780719074288 9780719095849 9781526125118 Year: DOI: 10.26530/OAPEN_628391 Language: English
Publisher: Manchester University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 100119
Subject: Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2017-05-05 11:01:48
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

This book takes enthusiasm to be a defining feature of American literature, showing how successive major writers – Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, Frank O’Hara and James Schuyler – have modernized and re-modeled Emerson’s founding sense of enthusiasm. The book presents the writer as enthusiast, showing how enthusiasm is fundamental to the composition and the circulation of literature. Enthusiasm, it is argued, is the way literary value is passed on.Starting with a brief history of enthusiasm from Plato to Kant and Emerson, the book features chapters on each of Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, O’Hara, and Schuyler. Each chapter presents an aspect of the writer as enthusiast, the book as a whole charting the changing sense of literary enthusiasm from Romanticism to the present day. Lucidly written and combatively argued, the book will appeal to readers of American Literature or Modern Poetry, and to all those interested in the circulation of literary work.

Heinrich Heine - Dichter und Jurist in Göttingen

Authors: --- ---
ISBN: 9783938616802 Year: DOI: 10.17875/gup2007-163 Language: German
Publisher: Universitätsverlag Göttingen
Subject: Law --- Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2011-11-04 00:00:00
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

This collection gathers the lectures, held at the colloquium of the faculty of law of the University of Goettingen in 2006, the official „Heinejahr“.

Labyrinths of Deceit

Author:
Book Series: Liverpool English Texts and Studies ISBN: 9780853238492 Year: Language: English
Publisher: Liverpool University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 102619
Subject: History
Added to DOAB on : 2019-01-23 06:28:26
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

Prominent citizens in nineteenth-century England believed themselves to be living in a time of unstoppable progress. Yet running just beneath Victorian triumphalism were strong undercurrents of chaos and uncertainty. Richard Walker plumbs the depths of those currents in order to present an alternative history of nineteenth-century society. Mining literary and philosophical works of the period, Walker explores the crisis of identity that beset nineteenth-century thinkers and how that crisis revealed itself in portrayals of addiction, split personalities, and religious mania. Victorian England will never look the same.

Listing 1 - 5 of 5
Sort by
Narrow your search

Publisher

Liverpool University Press (2)

Manchester University Press (1)

University of Michigan Press (1)

Universitätsverlag Göttingen (1)


License

CC by-nc-nd (5)


Language

english (4)

german (1)


Year
From To Submit

2007 (5)