Search results: Found 3

Listing 1 - 3 of 3
Sort by
R.S. Thomas: Identity, environment, deity

Author:
ISBN: 9781526137616 Year: Language: English
Publisher: Manchester University Press
Subject: Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2011-11-04 00:00:00
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

Christopher Morgan writes with keen critical insight on the controversial poet R. S. Thomas, considered to be one of the leading writers of the twentieth century. This is the first book to treat Thomas's entire oeuvre and will prove to be an indispensible guide and companion to the complete poems. Morgan not only recontextualises and reinterprets the poet's major themes of self, nature, and the search for deity; he breaks new ground with a penetrating investigation of Thomas's long preoccupation with the philosophical and practical implications of science and technology. The book is divided into three parts, each of which interprets the development of a major theme over Thomas's twenty-seven volumes, probing these particular themes and particular poems, with a meticulous insight. The book also treats Thomas's work as a complex and interrelated whole, as a body of work that comprises a single artistic achievement, and assesses that achievement within the context of an array of major literary figures from Montaigne to Seamus Heaney and Wallace Stevens. 'R. S. Thomas: Identity, environment, deity' proves invaluable as a beginner's introduction to the Welsh poet, as a student's guide to critical thinking about the poet's work, and as a provocative new step in scholarly studies.

Keywords

poet --- poetry --- welsh --- wales

Enthusiast!

Author:
ISBN: 9780719074288 9780719095849 9781526125118 Year: DOI: 10.26530/oapen_628391 Language: English
Publisher: Manchester University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 100119
Subject: Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2017-05-05 11:01:48
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

This book takes enthusiasm to be a defining feature of American literature, showing how successive major writers – Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, Frank O’Hara and James Schuyler – have modernized and re-modeled Emerson’s founding sense of enthusiasm. The book presents the writer as enthusiast, showing how enthusiasm is fundamental to the composition and the circulation of literature. Enthusiasm, it is argued, is the way literary value is passed on. Starting with a brief history of enthusiasm from Plato to Kant and Emerson, the book features chapters on each of Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, O’Hara, and Schuyler. Each chapter presents an aspect of the writer as enthusiast, the book as a whole charting the changing sense of literary enthusiasm from Romanticism to the present day. Lucidly written and combatively argued, the book will appeal to readers of American Literature or Modern Poetry, and to all those interested in the circulation of literary work.

Pastoral poetry of the English Renaissance

Author:
Book Series: The Manchester Spenser ISBN: 9780719096822 Year: Language: English
Publisher: Manchester University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 101895
Subject: Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2019-03-05 11:21:03
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

Renaissance pastoral poetry is gaining new interest for its distinctive imaginative vein, its varied allusive content, and the theoretical implications of the genre. This is by far the biggest ever anthology of English Renaissance pastoral poetry, with 277 pieces spanning two centuries. Spenser, Sidney, Jonson and Drayton are amply represented alongside their many contemporaries. There is a wide range of pastoral lyrics, weightier allusive pieces, and translations from classical and vernacular pastoral poetry; also, more unusually, pastoral ballads and poems set in all kinds of prose works. Each piece has been freshly edited from the original sources, with full apparatus and commentary. This book will be complemented by a second volume, to be published in 2017, which includes a book-length introduction, textual notes and analytic indices.

Listing 1 - 3 of 3
Sort by
Narrow your search

Publisher

Manchester University Press (3)


License

CC by-nc-nd (3)


Language

english (3)


Year
From To Submit

2016 (1)

2007 (1)

2003 (1)