Search results: Found 1

Listing 1 - 1 of 1
Sort by
Enthusiast!

Author:
ISBN: 9780719074288 9780719095849 9781526125118 Year: DOI: 10.26530/OAPEN_628391 Language: English
Publisher: Manchester University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 100119
Subject: Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2017-05-05 11:01:48
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

This book takes enthusiasm to be a defining feature of American literature, showing how successive major writers – Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, Frank O’Hara and James Schuyler – have modernized and re-modeled Emerson’s founding sense of enthusiasm. The book presents the writer as enthusiast, showing how enthusiasm is fundamental to the composition and the circulation of literature. Enthusiasm, it is argued, is the way literary value is passed on.Starting with a brief history of enthusiasm from Plato to Kant and Emerson, the book features chapters on each of Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, O’Hara, and Schuyler. Each chapter presents an aspect of the writer as enthusiast, the book as a whole charting the changing sense of literary enthusiasm from Romanticism to the present day. Lucidly written and combatively argued, the book will appeal to readers of American Literature or Modern Poetry, and to all those interested in the circulation of literary work.

Listing 1 - 1 of 1
Sort by
Narrow your search

Publisher

Manchester University Press (1)


License

CC by-nc-nd (1)


Language

english (1)


Year
From To Submit

2007 (1)