Search results: Found 10

Listing 1 - 10 of 10
Sort by
Mongrel Nation

Author:
ISBN: 9780472099917 9780472025053 Year: Language: English
Publisher: University of Michigan Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 100928
Added to DOAB on : 2018-04-20 11:02:35
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

Mongrel Nation surveys the history of the United Kingdom’s African, Asian, and Caribbean populations from 1948 to the present, working at the juncture of cultural studies, literary criticism, and postcolonial theory. Ashley Dawson argues that during the past fifty years Asian and black intellectuals from Sam Selvon to Zadie Smith have continually challenged the United Kingdom’s exclusionary definitions of citizenship, using innovative forms of cultural expression to reconfigure definitions of belonging in the postcolonial age. By examining popular culture and exploring topics such as the nexus of race and gender, the growth of transnational politics, and the clash between first- and second-generation immigrants, Dawson broadens and enlivens the field of postcolonial studies.

Keywords

Literature

Proust and America

Author:
ISBN: 9781846311147 9781846313875 Year: DOI: 10.26530/OAPEN_626374 Language: English
Publisher: Liverpool University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 100316
Subject: Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2017-03-31 11:02:04
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

“It is strange,” Proust wrote in 1909, “that, in the most widely different departments . . . there should be no other literature which exercises over me so powerful an influence as English and American.” In the spirit of Proust’s admission, this engaging and critical volume offers the first comparative reading of the French novelist in the context of American art, literature, and culture. In addition to examining Proust’s key American influences—Ralph Waldo Emerson, Edgar Allen Poe, and James McNeill Whistler—Proust and America investigates the previously overlooked influence of the American neurologist George Beard, whose writings on neurasthenia and “American nervousness” contributed to the essential modernity of the author’s work.

Keywords

Literature --- Proust

Enthusiast!

Author:
ISBN: 9780719074288 9780719095849 9781526125118 Year: DOI: 10.26530/OAPEN_628391 Language: English
Publisher: Manchester University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 100119
Subject: Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2017-05-05 11:01:48
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

This book takes enthusiasm to be a defining feature of American literature, showing how successive major writers – Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, Frank O’Hara and James Schuyler – have modernized and re-modeled Emerson’s founding sense of enthusiasm. The book presents the writer as enthusiast, showing how enthusiasm is fundamental to the composition and the circulation of literature. Enthusiasm, it is argued, is the way literary value is passed on.Starting with a brief history of enthusiasm from Plato to Kant and Emerson, the book features chapters on each of Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, O’Hara, and Schuyler. Each chapter presents an aspect of the writer as enthusiast, the book as a whole charting the changing sense of literary enthusiasm from Romanticism to the present day. Lucidly written and combatively argued, the book will appeal to readers of American Literature or Modern Poetry, and to all those interested in the circulation of literary work.

Heinrich Heine - Dichter und Jurist in Göttingen

Authors: --- ---
ISBN: 9783938616802 Year: Language: German
Publisher: Universitätsverlag Göttingen
Subject: Law --- Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2011-11-04 00:00:00
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

This collection gathers the lectures, held at the colloquium of the faculty of law of the University of Goettingen in 2006, the official „Heinejahr“.

Lenin Reloaded

Authors: --- ---
ISBN: 9780822339298 9780822389552 Year: Language: English
Publisher: Duke University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 102085
Subject: Political Science
Added to DOAB on : 2019-03-08 11:21:04
License: Duke University Press

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

Lenin Reloaded is a rallying call by some of the world’s leading Marxist intellectuals for renewed attention to the significance of Vladimir Lenin. The volume’s editors explain that it was Lenin who made Karl Marx’s thought explicitly political, who extended it beyond the confines of Europe, who put it into practice. They contend that a focus on Lenin is urgently needed now, when global capitalism appears to be the only game in town, the liberal-democratic system seems to have been settled on as the optimal political organization of society, and it has become easier to imagine the end of the world than a modest change in the mode of production. Lenin retooled Marx’s thought for specific historical conditions in 1914, and Lenin Reloaded urges a reinvention of the revolutionary project for the present. Such a project would be Leninist in its commitment to action based on truth and its acceptance of the consequences that follow from action.

Keywords

Literature --- Lenin --- Zizek --- Marxism --- Capitalism

Europäische Dimensionen des ,,Don Quijote in Literatur, Film, Kunst und Musik"

Authors: ---
ISBN: 9783937816289 Year: Pages: 286 DOI: 10.15460/HUP.81 Language: German
Publisher: Hamburg University Press
Subject: Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2019-01-15 13:33:24

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

Like no other novel, the "Don Quixote" by Miguel de Cervantes has fascinated readers time and again for four centuries. Written in Spain in the early 17th century, which at that time played a major role in shaping the destiny of Europe, the novel soon became the epitome of Spanish literature and culture. From Madrid he started affecting the rest of Europe and inspired thinkers, poets, artists, composers and later also filmmakers. The volume's eight contributions explore central aspects of the Cervantine novel and explore its reception and processing in literature, art, film and music in the European context.

Geschrift eener bejaarde vrouw

Author:
Book Series: De Amazone-reeks ISBN: 9789053564493 Year: Pages: 288 DOI: 10.5117/9789053564493 Language: Undetermined
Publisher: Amsterdam University Press
Subject: Social Sciences --- History --- Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2011-11-04 00:00:00
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

Dutch and Flemish literature; Dutch literature; Culture and history; Women: historical, geographic, persons treatment

Labyrinths of Deceit

Author:
Book Series: Liverpool English Texts and Studies ISBN: 9780853238492 Year: Language: English
Publisher: Liverpool University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 102619
Subject: History
Added to DOAB on : 2019-01-23 06:28:26
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

Prominent citizens in nineteenth-century England believed themselves to be living in a time of unstoppable progress. Yet running just beneath Victorian triumphalism were strong undercurrents of chaos and uncertainty. Richard Walker plumbs the depths of those currents in order to present an alternative history of nineteenth-century society. Mining literary and philosophical works of the period, Walker explores the crisis of identity that beset nineteenth-century thinkers and how that crisis revealed itself in portrayals of addiction, split personalities, and religious mania. Victorian England will never look the same.

The Nonconformists

Author:
ISBN: 9789639776135 9786155211362 Year: Language: English
Publisher: Central European University Press
Subject: Anthropology
Added to DOAB on : 2015-05-19 15:18:48
License: OpenEdition licence for Books

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

Serbia’s national movement of the 1980s and 1990s, the author suggests, was not the product of an ancient, immutable, and aggressive Serbian national identity; nor was it an artificial creation of powerful political actors looking to capitalize on its mobilizing power. Miller argues that cultural processes are too often ignored in favor of political ones; that Serbian intellectuals did work within a historical context, but that they were not slaves to the past. His subjects are Dobrica Ćosić ...

National Romanticism: The Formation of National Movements

Author:
ISBN: 9789637326608 9786155211249 Year: Language: English
Publisher: Central European University Press
Subject: Anthropology
Added to DOAB on : 2015-05-19 15:18:48
License: OpenEdition licence for Books

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

This is the second of the four-volume series, a daring project of CEU Press, presenting the most important texts that triggered and shaped the processes of nation-building in the many countries of Central and Southeast Europe. 67 texts, including hymns, manifestos, articles or extracts from lengthy studies exemplify the relation between Romanticism and the national movements in the cultural space ranging from Poland to the Ottoman Empire. Each text is accompanied by a presentation of the auth...

Listing 1 - 10 of 10
Sort by